SAISD Board appoints Bond Community Oversight Committee

News Release

SAISD Board appoints Bond Community Oversight Committee

January 18, 2011 -- The Board of Trustees of the San Antonio Independent School District tonight approved the appointment of a 24-member Bond Citizens’ Oversight Committee (COC) to ensure the effective and efficient use of 2010 bond proceeds.

The 24-member committee will provide feedback to staff, review progress reports and report recommendations to the Board.  The seven board members and the Superintendent each nominated three people to serve on the committee. They each also named an alternate, in the event a vacancy occurs. Members were chosen from a pool of applicants and reflect diverse business and community backgrounds.

An organizing meeting will be held February 2, 2011, where members will draw for lengths of terms varying from 12 months, 18 months or two years.  The committee members will also name officers at the meeting: a chairperson, who will convene the COC and conduct meetings; a vice chairperson, who will conduct business in the absence of the chairperson; and a secretary, who will ensure that accurate records are kept and reports provided to the Board in a timely fashion.

On August 16, 2010, the Board of Trustees passed a resolution in support of creating a Bond Citizens’ Oversight Committee if voters approved the bond election on November 2, 2010.

Following is a list of the committee members and alternates:

District 1
Steve Lecholop
Richard Moore
Nellie Gomez Shannon
Alternate: Hong Deng

District 2
Herbert L. Brewer
Nettie P. Hinton
Linda Jackson
Alternate: John Wilkins

District 3
Lillian Jones-McPherson
Paul Anthony Lombrano
Amy Middleton
Alternate: Mary McNaughton

District 4
Jose R. Limon
Elizabeth Riojas
Cynthia Rodriguez
Alternate: Henry Yzaguirre

District 5
Martin Marin
Addison Quiroga
Doug Sellers
Alternate: Armando Cadena

District 6
Louis Benavidez
Anthony Herrera
Rachel Ponce
Alternate: Paul Talamantez

District 7
Josette Gonzalez
Celina Pena
Randy Sanchez
Alternate: Ferne Burney

Superintendent Appointees
David Adelman
Mario Barrera
William Reynolds
Alternate: Alva-Alicia Cardenas

Go Public