Rising Stars 2011

SAISD’s classroom ‘Rising Stars’ shine bright

The efforts of four new teachers are so outstanding they already have captured the superintendent’s attention.

They are SAISD’s 2011 constellation of Rising Stars, and were among 52 nominees (names and schools below) Districtwide honored during a May 24 awards ceremony.

Recipients and their subjects and/or grade levels taught and schools are: Virginia Boyce - bilingual pre-kindergarten, Rogers ES; David Nungaray - 4th-grade bilingual, Bonham Academy; Brandon Honore - social studies, Twain MS; and Mary Kate Raffetto - math, Brackenridge HS.

Now in its third year, Rising Stars was instituted by Dr. Robert J. Durón to recognize exceptional new teachers for their dedication, initiative, and positive influence on schools and students.

Recipients were chosen by the superintendent following a nomination process that began with their principals.

Criteria was based upon ability to demonstrate an exceptional understanding and implementation of best instructional practices, classroom management techniques, and professional collaboration.

Nominees next were rated by a committee of principals and other SAISD professionals.

Each Rising Star received a trophy and a $250 voucher from Learning Zone to purchase school supplies.

Rising Star Nominee              Campus

Chaka Burroughs                               Carroll Early Childhood Center
Patricia Moreno                                   Carvajal Early Childhood Center
Margaret Botello                                  Collins Garden Elementary
Gilbert Medrano                                   De Zavala Elementary
Madeleine Brooks                               Maverick Elementary
Lisa Walsh                                           Miller Elementary
Virginia Boyce                                      Rogers Elementary
Esther Kwak                                        Woodlawn Elementary

Cynthia Rodriguez                               Ball Elementary
Stacy Griffith                                          Barkley-Ruiz Academy
Stephanie Blundell                              Baskin Academy
Caitlin Dempsey                                  Beacon Hill Elementary
David Nungaray                                    Bonham Academy
Richard Sendejo                                  Bowden  Elementary
Kathryn Gundersen                              Brewer Elementary
Natasha Dennis                                   Cameron Elementary
Lisa Mendez                                          Cotton Elementary
Elsa Stephanie Herrera                      Highland Hills Elementary
Cortney Haddon                                   J. T. Brackenridge Elementary
Julianne Carlson                                 Ogden Elementary
Grace VanVoorhis                                Pershing Elementary
Eddy Hernandez Perez                        Rodriguez Elementary
Sarah Hargis                                        Sarah King Elementary
Kenya Maldonado                                Smith Elementary
Sean Burke                                           Stewart Elementary
LaShanda Cummings-Robinson     W.W. White Elementary
Justin Scarbrough                               Washington Elementary

Alexandria Howell                               Connell Middle School
Emma McCormick                              Davis Middle School
Cirilo Campos                                     Irving Middle School
Sgt. 1st Class Douglas Darden      Longfellow Middle School
Lisa Billings                                        M. L. King Academy
Linda Evans                                        Page Middle School
Jeffrey Reamer                                   Poe Middle School
Rebecca Lopez                                  Rhodes Middle School
Stephanee Savell                              Rogers Middle School
Marcella Ovalle                                  Tafolla Middle School
Brandon Honore                                Twain Middle School
Andrew Campos                               Wheatley Middle School
Antonio X. Juarez                               Whittier Middle School
Jessalyn Bernhard                            Young Women's Leadership Acad.

Shannon Yrle                                     Adult Years Vocational Program
Mary K. Raffetto                                 Brackenridge High School
Joseph Mirarchi                                Burbank High School
Benjamin Mendoza                          Edison High School
Amanda Martinez                             Estrada Achievement Center
Abby Wiatrek                                     Fox Tech High School
Caitlin Minarchek                             Highlands High School
Leslie Holland                                 Jefferson High School
Valeria Escobedo                           Lanier High School
Valerie Brown                                  Sam Houston High School
Jennifer Lee-Chang                       Travis Early College High School

Go Public