SAISD Foundation INSPIRE Awards 2011 recipients

Media Advisory

What:  SAISD Foundation INSPIRE Awards 2011 recipients 

Who:  Outstanding SAISD educators and alumni including San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro and District 26 State Senator Leticia Van De Putte 

Where:  Villita Assembly Building, 401 Villita St.

When:  Sept. 28 (Wed) - 5:30 to 7:30 p.m.

The District’s past, present and future shining stars will be honored for making a significant difference in education and for their ability to inspire others. Preceding the awards presentation to start at 7 p.m., guests will have the opportunity to tour educator and student showcases, and enjoy entertainment provided by some award-winning student performers including the Edison High School drama team, Connell Middle School Jazz Band, Young Women’s Leadership Academy Dance Group, Austin Academy Mariachi Los Tigres, Woodlawn Elementary School Choir, and many more. 

Proceeds from the price of admission will fund innovative teaching grants in SAISD and Foundation initiatives.  

The sponsor for what is intended to become an annual event is the SAISD Foundation, a 501C3 public charity that exists solely to support the District’s schools, programs and teachers. Since its inception in the fall of 2007, the foundation has awarded a total of $498,723 through a variety of grants benefitting 52,885 students.

The list of honorees by award category follows:

2011 SAISD INSPIRE alumni award honorees

Excellence Award
Julián Castro, Government & Service. The 35-year-old San Antonio native is the youngest mayor of a top 50 American city, and is a graduate of Jefferson High School.

Al Silva, Business & Non-Profit.  Since 1981 Silva has served as the general manager and chief operating officer for the Labatt Food Service, and is a graduate of Jefferson High School.

Ashley Castoreno, Rising Star. The star of the 2011 documentary “Health Needs a Hero” that details her successful fitness efforts that began in the PE class of her alma mater and resulted in a 105-pound weight loss is Highlands High School graduate.

Leadership Award

Leticia Van de Putte, Government & Service. The six-term District 26 state senator and former five-term state representative who has served in a variety of capacities is a Jefferson High School graduate.

Julie Wisdom-Wild, Business & Non-Profit. The licensed chemical dependency counselor and Executive Director of Alpha Home who was named the 2010 Alamo Area Council of Governments’ Regional Citizen of the Year is an Edison High School graduate.

Service Award

Lanierites, Organization. This group comprised of Lanier High School graduates assists current students in graduating and continuing their educations through college and since 2009 have raised more than $30,000 in scholarships.

Dr. Carlos Orozco, Individual. The long time, award-winning physician of Internal Medicine is a leading advocate for better health awareness in San Antonio, a champion of the new Health Careers Magnet at Fox Tech HS and a graduate of Fox Tech HS.


Katherine Cantu-Sickle – Beacon Hill ES (3rd Grade Teacher)
Lois Anders - Beacon Hill ES (3rd Grade Teacher)
Maricela Lazarin - Fox Tech HS (Law Magnet Teacher)
Bill Odam - Jefferson HS (Agriculture Teacher)
Roland Ruvalcaba - Longfellow MS (AVID & Science Teacher)

Go Public