Texas Exes tap Isabel Fears for outstanding teaching

Texas Exes tap Isabel Fears for outstanding teaching

In honor of her selection as a Texas Exes
outstanding teacher, Isabel Fears poses under the
UT-Austin banner at her school.

A veteran educator is being recognized for her distinguished career and professional accomplishments.

Isabel Fears is among a dozen teachers to be honored on Feb. 22 by the University of Texas at Austin's Texas Exes alumni association, the President’s Office and UT's College of Education.

She and nine other high school and two elementary-level teachers statewide will be presented a custom sculpture and $2,250 as Texas Exes for Outstanding Teachers Awards recipients during a
dinner hosted by UT President Bill Powers.

The Jefferson HS math teacher was nominated by her principal, Joanne Cockrell.

"Ms. Fears continuously demonstrates a genuine passion for the teaching profession in all that she
does for our school, but more importantly, our students. Isabel goes above and beyond the call of duty each and every day," Cockrell stated in her nomination letter.

"My passion for teaching is beyond imagination," Fears wrote in describing her teaching philosophy for the nomination, adding:

"There are times when I step back and look at my
students working their mathematical equations. I admire their tenacity, their desire to learn, their sense of pride and accomplishment and I am thankful for the opportunity to teach and learn from them."

When not in the classroom, Fears is active in a variety of campus and District organizations and community involvement. She also teaches GED adult education classes three evenings a week.

Prior to returning to the Jefferson family four years ago (where her teaching career began in 1973), Fears taught at Navarro Academy, now designated as a high
school, and in the Northside ISD.

Honorees need not be UT-Austin graduates. Fears' bachelor's and master's degrees were earned at Our Lady of the Lake University and UTSA, respectively.

Award winners are selected based upon their ability to inspire and support their students, bringing credit to the teaching profession, and being held in
the highest regard by their students, fellow teachers, administrators, parents and community.

Since 1987, more than 3,000 educators have been nominated and only 287 chosen as recipients.