Alamo Stadium Murals
Thanks to Bond 2010, there are many changes that serve to modernize Alamo Stadium, which was constructed in 1939 and partially funded by a Works Progress Administration grant. We are just as proud, though, to be able to showcase some of the things that have not changed at the Stadium, including the preservation of four historical murals (pictured below) that depict San Antonio sports activities between 1840-1940.
The stadium, along with the adjacent Alamo Convocation Center, was named to the National Register of Historic Places in 2011. According to the application for the designation:
"Four ceramic tile murals located above each of the entry bays greet spectators upon arrival. These colorful glazed tile murals depict a century of local sports activities, ranging from rooster races to the district’s football teams of 1940. These murals were designed by artist Henry Wedemeyer with assistance from Leonora Feiler under the direction of Ethel Wilson Harris, supervisor of the local WPA Arts and Crafts Division. Each mural measures five feet high by thirteen feet wide and contains 192 tiles. Each tile measures six inch square, and is three-quarters of an inch thick. The tiles were glazed fired by sixty WPA workers in kilns at Ethel Harris’ Mexican Arts and Crafts studio in south San Antonio."
In addition, Hill Country Deco provides insight into the murals' origins.
1840 - La Corrida de Gallos (The Rooster Race) & Indian Archery Contest
1860 La Pelea del Gallo (The Cock Fight) & El Jarabe Tapatio (Hat Dance Contest)
1900 Roping Contest Rodeo SA Fair & Bulldogging
1940 - Alamo Stadium High School Sports