Testing Assessment Information - TAKS

Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS)

The Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) exit level tests measure examinee mastery
of the state-mandated curriculum. The TAKS exit level tests are available in four subject areas:
English language arts (ELA), mathematics, science, and social studies.

The tests are administered in October, March, and July. Examinees who were enrolled in grade 9
in 2010–2011 or earlier must pass all four subject areas to meet assessment graduation
requirements for a Texas public school diploma. Any student for whom TAKS is a graduation
requirement may test during any of the TAKS test administrations.

Beginning in October 2014, TAKS is an online testing program

TAKS program

Out-of-School TAKS Registration