Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube LinkedIn

SAISD Trustee Steve Lecholop appointed by Texas House Speaker Joe Straus to state committee


APRIL 19, 2016 – SAISD Trustee Steve Lecholop has been appointed by Texas House Speaker Joe Straus to serve as one of six members on the advisory committee to the Jobs and Education for Texans (JET) Grant Program, for a term set to expire in 2017.

The $10 million program, administered by the Texas Workforce Commission, provides grants to eligible educational institutions to defray start-up costs associated with developing new career and technical education programs.

"Steve's experience and leadership make him well-suited for this committee," said House Speaker Joe Straus of San Antonio. "As a school board member and former teacher, he knows the value of innovative programs that engage students and prepare them for emerging careers. He will be a strong voice for students in San Antonio and across our state."

Trustee Lecholop is an attorney at Rosenthal Pauerstein Sandoloski Agather LLP, where his practice focuses on corporate litigation and corporate bankruptcy. He is a former teacher and a Teach For America alumnus. He earned a Bachelor of Business Administration in Finance from the Business Honors Program at the University of Texas at Austin, a Master of Arts in Teaching from Johns Hopkins University and a Doctor of Jurisprudence from Southern Methodist University’s Dedman School of Law.

The JET advisory committee will meet at least once quarterly, or as needed, to review applications for funding and to recommend grant awards for programs at public junior colleges, public technical institutes and independent school districts. In awarding grants, the program considers the potential economic return to the state, whether the course or program represents a new, emerging industry or high-demand occupation or whether it offers new or expanded dual-credit career technical education opportunities in public high schools, among other factors.

Other education and workforce stakeholders comprising the advisory committee are appointed by the governor, lieutenant governor, the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and the Texas Workforce Commission.

--- SAISD ----