Sixth Annual Inspire Awards – 2016 recipients

Media Advisory

What:         Sixth Annual Inspire Awards – 2016 recipients

Who:          Outstanding SAISD educators and alumni including Nobel Prize winner Dr. William E. Moerner, artist and trail-blazing advertiser Lionel Sosa, and plastic surgeon Dr. Jaime Garza

When:       Sept. 29 (Thursday), 6 – 9 p.m.

Where:      Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, (Stars at Night Ballroom) 900 E. Market St.

The District’s past and present shining stars will be honored for making a significant difference in their fields and for their ability to inspire others. This sixth annual event is sponsored by the SAISD Foundation and proceeds from the price of admission will go to innovative grants and initiatives in SAISD.  

A reception and silent auction will begin at 6 p.m. and the awards presentation will start at 7 p.m. Student entertainment and featured groups will include: The Burbank HS drumline; Brackenridge HS theater; Cotton ES cheerleaders; Lanier HS mariachi; Longfellow MS advanced choir; Maverick ES Dragon News reporters; and Travis Early College HS robotics students.

The honorees are:

Leadership Award
Lionel Sosa (alumnus Lanier HS). Sosa is nationally recognized in the field of advertising. In the early 1980s, Sosa teamed up with Ernest Bromley and Al Aguilar to form a legendary and pioneering Hispanic marketing firm, Sosa, Bromley, Aguilar & Associates, where they landed Coca-Cola, a $28 million account. Other corporations followed such as American Airlines, Burger King, Anheuser-Busch, Sprint and Proctor & Gamble. By 1996, the firm reached its pinnacle eventually becoming the largest Hispanic advertising agency in the United States. His leadership and success in Hispanic advertising as a part of the Sosa, Bromley & Aguilar team are now enshrined in Washington’s Smithsonian National Museum of American History. 

Excellence Award
Dr. William E. Moerner (alumnus of Jefferson HS). Dr. Moerner is a 2014 Nobel Prize winner in chemistry and a professor at Stanford University. Dr. Moerner’s work focuses on single-molecule imaging, spectroscopy, trapping, and related areas of biophysics, nanophotonics and materials. Besides being a Jefferson HS graduate, Dr. Moerner attended SAISD’s Madison and Maverick elementary schools and Longfellow middle school. He is graduate of Washington University and Cornell University.

Service Award
Dr. Jaime Garza (alumnus of Jefferson HS). Dr. Garza is a triple board certified plastic surgeon and chairman for the Texas State University System Board of Regents. In high school and college, he excelled in the sport of football, and played a stint in the National Football League. Dr. Garza obtained dental and medical degrees from Tulane University and Louisiana State University. He specializes in plastic surgery and has a passion for helping patients with cleft lips. Dr. Garza used his sports background and medical knowledge to develop facial protective masks now used in the National Basketball Association, National Collegiate Athletic Association and hockey leagues.  He owns a comprehensive Academic Plastic Surgery group in San Antonio.

Innovation Award
(Educator Honoree - Primary)
Danielle A. Eisele-Elizondo (first grade teacher at Hirsch ES) – Ms. Eisele- Elizondo is a leader who has inspired others to embrace innovation in their respective learning environments. She has won multiple grants that provide students with enriching learning opportunities. She integrates technology into the classrooms by using Kindle Fire tablets and IPads. Her goal is to connect literacy with technology. She is a strong advocate of peer learning. Ms. Eisele-Elizondo has been a teacher for 14 years, all at Hirsch ES.

(Educator Honoree - Secondary)
Whittier MS (8th grade Math team) – Teacher Winslow Phillips and Laura Servin, now an SAISD consulting teacher, have brought creative and innovative ways for students to master math skills. The group uses drones and Remotely Operated Underwater Vehicles (ROVs) to bring math concepts to real life scenarios. In state test scores, the Whittier math team has outperformed all other middle schools in the District in algebra. Ms. Servin’s students had a 100 percent passage for end of course exam in algebra in the 2015-2016 school year.  

(Educator Honoree - School/Program/Initiative)
Young Men’s Leadership Academy (school-wide award) – YMLA provides a single-gender learning environment to 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th graders. Instruction is tailored to the male learner and is delivered in an environment that promotes a strong culture of brotherhood and camaraderie. YMLA students experience a highly interactive and project based learning environment. The in-district charter school opened in August 2015. In just one year, the school outperformed the District in 4th and 6th grade state assessments. YMLA is the only all-boys public charter school in San Antonio.

About SAISD Foundation
The SAISD Foundation is a 501(c)(3) public charity that exists solely to support the District’s schools, programs and teachers. Since its inception in 2007, the foundation has awarded over $2.5 million in teaching grants, strategic initiatives and student scholarships.