SAISD campuses to mark major milestones in 2017-18

According to our Communications Department history files, these schools are observing significant anniversaries this year. The following reflect years spent at the school’s current location, including those opened under different names and purposes.

• 110th – Hillcrest ES. Originally the Beanville School in honor of Texas legend Judge Roy Bean, who had been an area resident.

• 110th – Riverside Park ES. Originally the Missionfield School.

• 100th – Brackenridge HS.

• 95th – Stewart ES. Originally the Covington School.

• 90th – Wilson ES.

• 90th – Woodlawn Hills ES.

• 85th – Fenwick ES.

• 85th – Graebner ES.

• 85th – Knox ECEC. The campus was an elementary until 2008.

• 85th – Rodriguez ES. Originally Ivanhoe ES. Renamed in the 1970s to honor former student Cleto Rodriguez, the first Hispanic Congressional Medal of Honor recipient.

• 85th – Tynan ECEC. Until 2008 the campus was an elementary.

• 80th – Burbank HS. Originally a junior/senior high school.

• 70th – Miller ES.

• 65th – Highland Hills ES.

• 60th – Forbes ES.

• 60th – M.L. King Academy. Opened as Riley ES-JHS in 1957. The campus served as a middle school through the mid-1970s until becoming a PK-8 academy in 2004.

• 55th – Kelly ES. Originally the Kelly Field School, exclusively serving Kelly Air Force Base students until becoming part of SAISD in 1962.

• 15th – Barkley-Ruiz ES.

What’s in a name?

In addition to multiple locations, some SAISD schools have had many monikers. These anniversaries pertain to names only.

• 115th – Crockett ES. Originally the Prospect Hill School.

• 115th – De Zavala ES. Originally the Third Ward School.

• 115th – Douglass ES. Originally the Riverside School. Douglass also previously served as a high school and junior high.

• 115th – Travis ECHS. Originally School #13 and also called the Tobin Hill School. Travis served as an elementary until 2008.

• 110th – J.T. Brackenridge ES. Originally the Kerr Hill School.

• 35th M.L. King Academy