Seven SAISD teachers named Teaching Policy Fellows

Teach Plus, a national non-profit that puts teacher leaders at the center of improvement at all levels of the education system, named its first set of Texas Teaching Policy Fellows with 30 outstanding public school teachers – including seven SAISD teachers.

Teach Plus had more SAISD teachers than any other school district or charter in the state of Texas.

Teach Plus programs are designed to engage and support teacher leaders in transforming the educational system in order to best serve high-need students. Since 2007, Teach Plus has grown from 16 teachers to a network of more than 22,000 solutions-oriented teachers nationwide.

At the Oct. 9 Board meeting, Trustees recognized the following teachers for participating in the Teach Plus program:

Nathaniel DuPont – Advanced Learning Academy

Dora Leija – Carroll Early Childhood Education Center

Monica White – Carroll Early Childhood Education Center

Dana Wrann – Cotton Elementary School

Amy Hestilow – Japhet Elementary School

Christopher Green – Rhodes Middle School

Sarah Perez – Riverside Park Elementary School