Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube LinkedIn

Librarians deputized as volunteer deputy registrars

Librarians from all SAISD schools are sworn in as volunteer deputy registrars.

As the Nov. 6 Election Day approaches, SAISD is making it easier for members of Bexar County to register to vote. Last month, all librarians from SAISD schools gathered together to be deputized to register voters in Bexar County.

“It is exciting to see our librarians energized about what we can do to the support community and to get our community involved in voter registration,” said Becky Landa, executive director in SAISD’s Office of 21st Century Learning. “I think it is important for people to vote because it is a part of being a good citizen and we need to model that for our children.”

Librarians serving students in kindergarten all the way through 12th grade attended an hour-long training with the Bexar County Elections Department. Previously, high school principals were the majority of the volunteer deputy registrars in SAISD schools, with only a few librarians deputized.

Landa and her staff, and the Governmental & Community Relations Department, spearheaded the deputization of the librarians because libraries are the hubs that allow students, parents and the community to explore different opportunities.

 “A library is a place that has an outreach beyond a collection of books,” said Landa. “They are a source of incredible information, and offering services like this [voter registration] is just one of them.”

Abraham Karam, librarian at Carroll ECEC and Page MS, said that he thinks it is awesome that he is going to be able to serve the community in this way. 

“This [voting] is how the people get their voice heard,” said Karam. “Being able to offer this kind of thing is great. My job is not just about serving the kids; we serve the families and the community as well. This is a great way to do outreach for SAISD, and I consider it an honor.”

Librarians who were deputized at the Aug. 28 ceremony will be certificated through Dec. 31, 2018. Typically, the certification is good for two years, but because the librarians were deputized in the middle of an election cycle, they will only be certified through Dec. 31, 2018.

SAISD will be holding the District’s annual Voter Registration Day on September 25, and a variety of organizations will be helping the librarians register people to vote in a number of schools across the District. The last day to register to vote for the Nov. 6 election is Oct. 9. If you are interested in becoming a volunteer deputy registrar, click here.  

Voter Registration Day in SAISD is Sept. 25

During the following times on Sept. 25, SAISD will be assisted by several nonpartisan community organizations - AARP, Alpha Kappa Psi, League of Women Voters, LULAC, MOVE Texas, and St. Mary's Law students - using volunteer voter registrars who have been deputized. 

Times and participating Early Childhood Education Centers:

7:15 a.m. to 9 a.m.
2 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Carroll ECEC, Carvajal, Nelson (PM only) and Tynan ECEC*

Times and participating Elementary, Academy and Middle Schools:

8 a.m. to 10 a.m.
3 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Advanced Learning Academy on Euclid (PM only); Arnold ES, Ball Academy (PM only), Barkley-Ruiz ES (PM only), Baskin ES, Beacon Hill Academy; Bonham Academy (AM only), Bowden Academy (AM only),      J. T. Brackenridge ES (PM only), Briscoe ES, Collins Garden ES (AM only), Crockett Academy, Davis MS, De Zavala ES (PM only), Fenwick Academy , Foster Academy, Franklin ES (PM only), Gates ES (PM only), Graebner ES, Harris MS, Hawthorne Academy (PM only), Herff Academy (AM only), Highland Hills (AM only), Highland Park ES, Hillcrest ES, Hirsch ES (AM only), Huppertz ES, Irving MS-Dual Language Academy (PM only), Japhet Academy (AM only), Kelly ES (PM only), M.L. King Academy, Sarah King ES (PM only), Lamar ES, Longfellow MS, Lowell MS (PM only), Madison ES, Margil Academy (AM only), Maverick ES, Miller ES (PM only), Ogden Academy (AM only), Pershing ES (AM only), Rhodes MS, Rodriguez ES (PM only), Schenck ES (AM only), Storm ES (AM only), Tafolla MS, Whittier MS, Young Men's Leadership Academy, and Young Women's Leadership Academy*

High schools
High school students, who are eligible to register, will have an opportunity to do so during their government, social studies or economics classes on either Monday, Sept. 24 or Tuesday, Sept. 25.

* Campuses confirmed as of Sept. 24, 2018. Additional campuses may be added. This list will be kept updated.