Home Our History
Our History PDF Print

 

 

 

school

Samuel A. Maverick Elementary

Samuel A. Maverick Elementary first opened its doors to SAISD students in the spring of 1952. The original school building housed 20 classrooms and serviced 435 students. In the year 2002 a new building was constucted on the site and now boasts an enrollment of 672 students. The school sits on property known as Sunshine Ranch. It was part of the original Spanish land grant given to Samuel A. Maverick who arrived in San Antonio in 1835 from South Carolina. Samuel A. Maverick distinguished himself as a lawyer, statesman and advocate for an independendent Texas. In 1836 he was one of two representatives elected from San Antonio to attend the Texas Independence Convention at Washington-on-the Brazos where he signed the Texas Declaration of Independence. In years to follow he served in the Texas legislature that made Texas the 28th state in 1845. From 1851 to 1863 he served two terms in the Texas House and Senate. He then served the city of San Antonio as mayor and a Bexar County Chief Justice. In the aftermath of the Civil War Samuel A. Maverick made many donations of land titles to the state and worked  for reconstruction. He died on September 2, 1870.

 

 
[ Back ]