STAAR™ will include the following elementary school assessments:

  • 3rd grade Mathematics and Reading
  • 4th grade Mathematics, Reading and Writing
  • 5th grade Mathematics, Reading and Science


The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR™) replaced the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) in the 2011-2012 school year. STAAR™ will include assessments in the following grades and subjects at the elementary level:

  • 3rd – Mathematics & Reading (including English and Spanish versions)
  • 4th – Mathematics, Reading & Writing (including English & Spanish versions)
  • 5th – Mathematics, Reading & Science (including English & Spanish versions)

What’s different about STAAR™?

STAAR includes more difficult testing methods and require a higher level of student performance. Assessments increased in length at most grades and subjects. For reading, greater emphasis is placed on critical analysis of passages rather than literal understanding. The writing test requires more essays in both first-person and expository styles. On the science and mathematics tests, STAAR includes a type of open-ended question known as a griddable item. The purpose of griddable items is to allow students to develop answers independently without being influenced by answer choices provided with the questions (commonly known as multiple-choice). Most science and mathematics assessments include three to five griddable items. Illustrations of the test design and released tests for grades 3-8 are available at

How does STAAR™ affect promotion to the next grade level?

The Student Success Initiative (SSI) promotion requirements for grades 5 and 8 are in effect. Districts will be required to provide remediation to any student who fails a STAAR assessment, whether in grades 3-8 or high school. More information on the Student Success Initiative (SSI) can be found at