Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube LinkedIn

SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame

AHOF 2018

Athletic Hall of Fame

7 Honorees Inducted into 2018 AHOF
Seven honorees were enshrined into the 2018 SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame. They were as follows: Fennis Dembo (Fox Tech HS/Class of 1984/Basketball), Tai Dillard (Sam Houston HS/Class of 1999/Basketball), Delo Dyer (Jefferson HS/Volleyball Coach), Darryl Grant (Highlands HS/Class of 1977/Football), Clifford Johnson (Wheatley HS/Class of 1966/Baseball), David Vela (Burbank HS/Class of 1979/Football), and Julius Whittier (Highlands HS/Class of 1969/Football).

Nominations for 2019 SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame
Nominations for the 2019 San Antonio ISD Athletic Hall of Fame are now being accepted.  Deadline to submit nominations is March 1, 2019. To nominate a former athlete, administrator, coach, or special contributor, click here.  Completed nomination forms can be mailed to SAISD Athletic Office at 110 Tuleta Dr., SA, TX 78212. Or you can email nomination forms to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it . The deadline to submit nominations is March 1, 2019. For questions, call (210) 554-2655.

About the SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame
Established in 2014, the SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame honors alumni who have made a positive impact in sports, either through excellent athletic achievements or excellent athletic program contributions. In addition to outstanding athleticism, inductees were chosen for their distinction and excellence to the District by their conduct both on and off the field, or court, of competition.

Each year, nominations are received and selection is made by the SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame committee. Bronze plaques commemorating the honorees are on permanent display at the east visitor’s entrance of Alamo Stadium.

The SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame is sponsored by the SAISD Athletic Department and receives support from the SAISD Foundation. For ticket information, call 210-554-2655 or visit the SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame website at www.saisd.net/athletichalloffame.

Eligibility requirements for the SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame

  • Student-athletes who graduated from an SAISD high school at least 15 years ago. Nominees could be considered posthumously.
  • Administrators who served at the high-school level for a minimum of 20 years or as a high school administrator and coach for a minimum of 15 years, of which at least 10 years must have been as an administrator.
  • Coaches who served at the high-school level for at least 20 years. Primary consideration was given to their achievements at this level and secondarily to those at the collegiate or professional level.
  • Contributors in such areas as sports media, sports medicine, sports official, sports announcer or supporter.  Nominees were considered primarily on the merits of their contributions to high school athletics and must have been involved in high school athletics for a minimum of 20 years.

SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame Honorees

Class of 2018

Fennis Dembo
Fox Tech HS / Class of 1984

Tai Dillard
Sam Houston HS / Class of 1999

Delores “Delo” Dyer
Jefferson HS
Volleyball Coach


Darryl Grant
Highlands HS / Class of 1977

Clifford Johnson
Wheatley HS / Class of 1966

David Vela
Burbank HS / Class of 1979

Julius Whittier
Highlands HS / Class of 1969

Class of 2017

Gary Bell
Burbank HS / Class of 1954

Vic Castillo
Brackenridge HS / Class of 1963

Laura Neugebauer Groff
Jefferson HS / Class of 1982


Phil Harris
Jefferson HS / Class of 1962

Joel Horlen
Burbank HS / Class of 1955
Howard “HJ” Johnston
Highlands HS
Track Coach

Willie Mitchell
Wheatley HS / Class of 1959

Class of 2016


Christi Cano
Edison HS / Class of 1999

Wayne Dickey
Highlands HS / Class of 1970
Basketball Coach (Sam Houston HS)

William Carson “Nemo” Herrera
Brackenridge HS / Class of 1918
Basketball Coach (Lanier HS)


Kathleen Lovejoy
SAISD Athletic Department
Special Contributor / Historian
Warren McVea
Brackenridge HS / Class of 1964

Gabe Señor Sack” Rivera
Jefferson HS / Class of 1979

Dorothy “Dottye” Williams
SAISD Athletic Department
Assistant Athletic Director



Class of 2015

Clyde Pearson Glosson
Wheatley HS / Class of 1965
Gary Green
Sam Houston HS / Class of 1973
Paul G. Martin
Highlands HS
Football Coach


Tommy Nobis

Jefferson HS / Class of 1962

Dr. Victor Rodriguez


Raymond “R.A.” Johnson

Jefferson HS / Class of 1961
Football Coach (Sam Houston HS)


Claud H. Kellam
Athletic Director

Kyle Rote
Jefferson HS / Class of 1947