Skip Navigation
Advanced Academics Seal
Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID)
Quicklinks

Contact Us

514 W. Quincy St.
San Antonio, Texas 78212
210-554-2555 (phone)
210-228-3164 (fax)

0:00 / 0:00

AVID, or Advancement Via Individual Determination, is designed to increase the number of students who enroll in and graduate from four-year colleges and universities. The AVID college readiness system accelerates student learning, uses research-based methods of effective instruction, provides meaningful and motivational professional learning, and acts as a catalyst for systemic reform and change. The system is credited with helping to turn students into confident, college-going scholars and graduates. 

AVID's mission is close the opportunity gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society.

SAISD was the first district in Texas to pilot AVID in 1997 with one AVID elective classroom at each of the comprehensive high schools. AVID is offered as an elective course during the school day at all participating schools. Students learn organizational and study skills; they work on critical thinking and asking probing questions and they receive academic help from peers and college tutors. The students also participate in enrichment and motivational activities that make college attainable.

In addition to the AVID elective, we offer AVID Excel at seven middle school/academy campuses. AVID Excel is a middle school elective to support emerging bilinguals and focuses on academic language acquisition and literacy. 

SAISD has a total of four National Demonstration Schools in its District. Young Women's Leadership Academy was designated as an AVID National Demonstration site in April 2022. Jefferson and Longfellow have been designated as AVID National Demonstration Sites since 2011. Whittier received its designation the following year in 2012. The designation is bestowed upon schools deemed highly successful in implementing the AVID college readiness system.  However, at National Demonstration Schools, the system is implemented beyond the elective class and incorporated schoolwide. They serve as exemplary models that other schools interested in implementing AVID can visit to observe the very best of the system’s proven methodologies and strategies. These three campuses are among approximately 170 other schools in the country to hold the designation, which is only about 2 percent of the 5,600 schools in which AVID is implemented.
 

AVID Department

Dr. Cynthia Martinez
Coordinator, AVID
(210) 554-2525

Email Dr. Cynthia Martinez

AVID Campus Coordinators

SCHOOL NAME COORDINATOR EMAIL
Hawthorne Academy Valerie Walker vwalker1@saisd.net
Herff Elementary Solia Hernandez shernandez@saisd.net
Herff Elementary Cordelia Gonzales cgonzalez16@saisd.net
Huppertz Elementary Leonard Castilleja lcastilleja1@saisd.net
Pershing Elementary Rikii Gipson rgipson1@saisd.net
Rogers Academy Sandra Castaneda Olayo scastanedaolayo1@saisd.net
YWLA Primary Jennifer Boone jboone2@saisd.net

SCHOOL NAME COORDINATOR EMAIL
Bonham Academy Elizabeth Garza egarza13@saisd.net
Bowden Academy Dawn Barrera dbarerra3@saisd.net
Crockett Academy Laura Gonzales lgonzales5@saisd.net
Douglass Academy Kiana Bourgeois  kbourgeois1@saisd.net
Douglass Academy Angelica Reyes areyes10@saisd.net
Hawthorne Academy Valerie Walker vwalker1@saisd.net
Japhet Academy Molly Daiber mdaiber1@saisd.net
Rogers Academy Sandra Castaneda Olayo scastanedaolayo@saisd.net
YWLA Andrea Garcia agarcia18@saisd.net

SCHOOL NAME COORDINATOR EMAIL
Harris Middle School Anette Alonso aalonso1@saisd.net
Hot Wells Middle School Marian Pamilton mpamilton1@saisd.net
Longfellow Middle School Jeanette Rodriguez jrodriguez23@saisd.net
Poe Middle School Joy Gonzales jgonzales16@saisd.net
Poe Middle School Deborah Slavin dslavin@saisd.net
Whitter Middle School Maria Gutierrez mgutierrez2@saisd.net

SCHOOL NAME COORDINATOR EMAIL
Bonham Academy Elizabeth Garza egarza13@saisd.net
Harris Middle School Annette Alonzo aalonso1@saisd.net
Hot Wells Middle School Marian Pamilton mpamilton1@saisd.net
Japhet Academy Molly Diaber mdaiber1@saisd.net
Longfellow Middle School Jeanette Rodriguez jrodriguez16@saisd.net
Poe Middle School Joy Gonzales jgonzales16@saisd.net
Whittier Middle School Maria Gutierrez mgutierrez2@saisd.net

SCHOOL NAME COORDINATOR EMAIL
Brackenridge High School Mary Bordes mbordes@saisd.net
Burbank High School Jose Solis jsolis6@saisd.net
CAST Med High School Monica Galvan mgalvan5@saisd.net
CAST Tech High School Melissa Quintanilla-Vasquez mquintanilla@saisd.net
Edison High School Anthony Gallardo agallardo3@saisd.net
Fox Tech High School Ana Harvey aharvey1@saisd.net
Highlands High School Monica Acuna macuna1@saisd.net
Jefferson High School Mary Garcia margarcia@saisd.net
Lanier High School Juan Cervantes jcervantes2@saisd.net
Sam Houston High School Torrence Abrams tabrams1@saisd.net
St. Phillips ECHS Antonio Panella apanella1@saisd.net
Travis ECHS Emily Hanley ehanley1@saisd.net
Travis ECHS Rosa Dockal rdockal1@saisd.net
YWLA Andrea Garcia agarcia18@saisd.net

Press ENTER key to focus on the active panel
guide

    This session will provide and overview of SAISD AVID and the AVID College and Career Readiness Framework.

    Pear Deck Module

    Educators will  learn WICOR strategies that are best practices for instruction to prepare all students for college and career readiness.

    Pear Deck Module

    Campus AVID Site Team members will review the coaching and Certification Instrument to determine opportunities for growth and areas of strength in the implementation of the AVID College and Career Readiness Framework on their Campus.

    Pear Deck Module

    Campus AVID Site Team members will review the coaching and Certification Instrument to determine opportunities for growth and areas of strength in the implementation of the AVID College and Career Readiness Framework on their Campus.

    Pear Deck Module

    Campus AVID Site Team Members will explore their roles and responsibilities and the creation of Campus AVID Site Goals.

    Pear Deck Module

    Press ENTER key to focus on the active panel
avid parents
Press ENTER key to focus on the active panel

Copyright © {{YEAR}} San Antonio Independent School District. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM