Skip Navigation
Communications Seal

Contact Us

514 W Quincy St
San Antonio, Texas 78212
210-554-2250 (phone)
210-228-3130 (EFax)

Press Releases

San Antonio ISD Board of Trustees approve renewal for 18 in-district charter schools
Jan. 23, 2023 – The San Antonio ISD Board of Trustees voted tonight to renew the in-district charters for 18 schools in SAISD. Three schools were approved for five-year renewal terms, 12 schools were approved for four-year renewal terms, and a trio of campuses were renewed on three-year probationary contracts. 

Annually the Board of Trustees reviews performance analytics provided by the SAISD Office of Innovation. All 39 in-district charter schools are under contract with set goals established in the SAISD In-District Charter Renewal Guide. Schools must meet goals in the categories of Academic Excellence, Organizational Strength and Financial Health. 

In addition to annual performance review data, Trustees also requested and received input from parents and the community throughout the renewal process in the forms of surveys and town hall meetings. This type of direct feedback from the community will continue to grow with future in-district charter school renewals.

“We have a commitment to ongoing community engagement, and to not only continue what we’re doing but to also get better,” said John Norman, SAISD Chief Strategy Officer. “We are going to make sure that annual performance reviews have family and student focus groups. We are going to begin renewal activities much earlier in the spring prior to the school’s renewal year.”  

The following SAISD in-district charter schools were approved for five-year renewals:

Briscoe Elementary School
Harris Middle School
Ogden Elementary School

The following SAISD in-district charter schools were approved for four-year renewals:

Advanced Learning Academy
Ball Elementary School
Bowden Academy
Burbank High School
CAST Tech High School
Democracy Prep at Stewart Academy
Fenwick Academy
Gates Elementary School
Jefferson High School
Lamar Elementary School
Storm Elementary School
Young Women’s Leadership Academy

The following SAISD in-district charter schools were approved for three-year probationary renewals:

Huppertz Elementary School
Woodlawn Academy
Woodlawn Hills Elementary School

“Each school on probationary renewal must submit a comprehensive plan that includes metrics and goals to address the areas where they fell short on their outcomes in line with the goals we set,” Norman said.

On Dec. 13, 2022, Trustees voted to revoke the charters for six in-district schools. In this decision, the campuses will retain their charter for the remainder of the 2022-23 school year. In the fall of 2023, the schools will not be under charter contracts as they enter the new school year as district campuses. For some of the schools, the campuses did not wish to implement the charter programs.

The SAISD campuses with revoked charters are the following:

Barkley-Ruiz Elementary School
Carroll Early Childhood Education Center
Davis Middle School
Hawthorne Academy
Martin Luther King Academy
Tynan Early Childhood Education Center

“After hearing from the results of the community engagement, we voted to revoke those charters,” said Board Secretary Art Valdez. “But rest assured, these SAISD schools will see minimal impact. These are great neighborhood schools, and we will continue to support them.” 

Copyright © {{YEAR}} San Antonio Independent School District. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM