Skip Navigation
Communications Seal

Contact Us

514 W Quincy St
San Antonio, Texas 78212
210-554-2250 (phone)
210-228-3130 (EFax)

Press Releases

SAISD Foundation to host 12th Annual Inspire Awards
SAISD Foundation to host 12th Annual Inspire Awards 

Judy Geelhoed, SAISD Foundation Executive Director 
Dr. Jaime Aquino, SAISD Superintendent
Inspire Award recipients
SAISD Foundation Board Members 
San Antonio ISD Board of Trustees
Nov. 6, 2023 (Mon), beginning at 5:45 p.m.
Mays Center at Witte Museum, 3801 Broadway, 78209 
Now in its 12th year, the SAISD Foundation will host its annual Inspire Awards to honor four distinguished San Antonio ISD alumni and one former SAISD board member who has contributed significantly to the school district. 

This year’s honored alumni include: 

• Minnie Abrego-Sanchez (Highlands High School) 
• Richard Goldsmith (Jefferson High School) 
• Col. (Retired) Leon Holland and Peggy Drake Holland (both Wheatley High School) 

Additionally, former SAISD Trustee Patti Radle will be recognized as a Friend of the Foundation. 

Longtime educator and advocate, Minnie Abrego-Sanchez, retired from San Antonio ISD after 29 years of service. After retirement, she held various staff positions in public-sector service for State Senators Leticia Van de Putte and José Menendez. She has also served as a member of various professional organizations, non-profit boards, and county boards and commissions. 

Richard Goldsmith is credited as the founder of the San Antonio Area Foundation, nearly 60 years ago. Little did he know that his community foundation would become a nucleus for philanthropy and nonprofit support in our area and among the largest community foundations in the country.  

Peggy Drake and Leon Holland met at Wheatley High School. Both went on to attend the University of Texas at Austin. Leon was a member of the first black undergraduate class and Peggy was the first female and black student in her business classes. Together, they founded the Precursors, Inc., a group of first-generation African Americans to attend U.T. 

Patti Radle taught in SAISD for 12 years, served on the San Antonio City Council from 2003 to 2007, served for 12 years as an SAISD trustee, and served as the board president for six of those years. 
“The Inspire Awards is an annual event that reminds us of the legacies our San Antonio ISD graduates have created in our communities and neighborhoods,” said Judy Geelhoed, executive director of the SAISD Foundation. “We also want to recognize Patti Radle for her past and ongoing support of our students. Highlighting our stars inspires our students to know what is possible.” 

The evening ceremony will begin with a reception at 5:45 p.m., during which students will welcome guests and demonstrate their learning through activities that involve 3D printing, farm animals from the agricultural science program, and the newly launched Book Buddies Bus. The reception will be followed by the dinner and awards ceremony at 7 p.m. 

Copyright © {{YEAR}} San Antonio Independent School District. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM