Skip Navigation
SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame
Football photo

Nomination Form for 2024 Athletic Hall of Fame


SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2024
Coming Aug. 10

San Antonio ISD will celebrate its 10th annual Athletic Hall of Fame in the summer of 2024.

Sponsorships are now available.  For sponsorship information, click here.  For questions, call (210) 554-2655.


Class of 2024 Nominations for SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame
Nominations for the San Antonio ISD Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2024 are now being accepted. To nominate a former athlete, administrator, coach, or special contributor, click here.  Completed nomination forms can be mailed to SAISD Athletic Office at 110 Tuleta Dr., SA, TX 78212. Or you can email nomination forms to The deadline to submit nominations is February 29, 2024. For questions, call (210) 554-2655.

About the SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame
Established in 2014, the SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame honors alumni who have made a positive impact in sports, either through excellent athletic achievements or excellent athletic program contributions. In addition to outstanding athleticism, inductees were chosen for their distinction and excellence to the District by their conduct both on and off the field, or court, of competition.

Each year, nominations are received and selection is made by the SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame committee. Bronze plaques commemorating the honorees are on permanent display at the east visitor’s entrance of Alamo Stadium.

The SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame is sponsored by the SAISD Athletic Department and receives support from the SAISD Foundation. For ticket information, call 210-554-2655 or visit the SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame website at


Eligibility requirements for the SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame

  • Student-athletes who graduated from an SAISD high school at least 10 years ago. Nominees could be considered posthumously.
  • Administrators who served at the high-school level for a minimum of 15 years or as a high school administrator and coach for a minimum of 10 years, of which at least 7 years must have been as an administrator.
  • Coaches who served at the high-school level for at least 15 years. Primary consideration was given to their achievements at this level and secondarily to those at the collegiate or professional level.
  • Contributors in such areas as sports media, sports medicine, sports official, sports announcer or supporter.  Nominees were considered primarily on the merits of their contributions to high school athletics and must have been involved in high school athletics for a minimum of 20 years.


SAISD Athletic Hall of Fame Honorees

Class of 2023

Ovie Everett Dotson 
Sam Houston HS / Class of 1975
Adrian Montoya
Highlands HS / Class of 1995
Jaime R. Garza, M.D. 
Jefferson HS / Class of 1972
De Celle Thomas 
Brackenridge HS / Class of 1992
Bohn Hilliard Jr.
Brackenridge HS / Class of 1950
Public Address Announcer
1968 Baseball Team
Highlands High School


Class of 2020 / 2021 / 2022

Emilie Burrer Foster
Jefferson HS  / Class of 1965
David Rodriguez
Lanier HS  /Class of 1945
Milyse Lamkin
Sam Houston HS  /Class of 1981
Ricardo Romo
Fox Tech HS  /Class of 1962
Gerardo Marquez
Burbank HS  /Class of 1975
Greg Simmons
Jefferson HS  / Class of 1974
Sports Broadcasting


Class of 2019

Rudy Bernal
Lanier HS
Basketball Coach
Adriane Lapsley Butler
Brackenridge HS / Class of 2002
Larry Collins
Edison HS / Class of 1974
Diz Reeves
Coach & Athletic Director
Rudy Davalos
Edison HS / Class of 1956
Coach & Athletic Director
Gilbert Salinas
Burbank HS / Class of 1977


Class of 2018

Fennis Dembo
Fox Tech HS / Class of 1984
Darryl Grant
Highlands HS / Class of 1977
Julius Whittier
Highlands HS / Class of 1969
Tai Dillard
Sam Houston HS / Class of 1999
Clifford Johnson
Wheatley HS / Class of 1966
Delores “Delo” Dyer
Jefferson HS
Volleyball Coach
David Vela
Burbank HS / Class of 1979


Class of 2017

Gary Bell
Burbank HS / Class of 1954
Phil Harris
Jefferson HS / Class of 1962
Willie Mitchell
Wheatley HS / Class of 1959
Vic Castillo
Brackenridge HS / Class of 1963
Joel Horlen
Burbank HS / Class of 1955
Laura Neugebauer Groff
Jefferson HS / Class of 1982
Howard “HJ” Johnston
Highlands HS
Track Coach


Class of 2016

Christi Cano
Edison HS / Class of 1999
Kathleen Lovejoy
SAISD Athletic Department
Special Contributor / Historian
Dorothy “Dottye” Williams
SAISD Athletic Department
Assistant Athletic Director
Wayne Dickey
Highlands HS / Class of 1970
Basketball Coach (Sam Houston HS)
Warren McVea
Brackenridge HS / Class of 1964
William Carson “Nemo” Herrera
Brackenridge HS / Class of 1918
Basketball Coach (Lanier HS)
Gabe “Señor Sack” Rivera
Jefferson HS / Class of 1979


Class of 2015

Clyde Pearson Glosson
Wheatley HS / Class of 1965
Tommy Nobis
Jefferson HS / Class of 1962
Claud H. Kellam
Athletic Director
Gary Green
Sam Houston HS / Class of 1973
Dr. Victor Rodriguez
Kyle Rote
Jefferson HS / Class of 1947
Paul G. Martin
Highlands HS
Football Coach
Raymond “R.A.” Johnson
Jefferson HS / Class of 1961
Football Coach (Sam Houston HS)

Copyright © {{YEAR}} San Antonio Independent School District. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM